Rice University logo Bioengineering, George R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Top blue bar image Bioengineering
 

Bioengineering Faculty Members

The Department of Bioengineering's core faculty, emeritus, joint appointments, and adjunct faculty serve as the backbone to the department's overall strength and competitive ranking as an internationally recognized teaching and research institution.

Currently, 27 research and teaching faculty members have primary appointments in the department, and many hold joint appointments with several institutions of the Texas Medical Center. The department also benefits from 19 multi-disciplinary joint appointments within various science and engineering departments at Rice. In addition, a network of adjunct faculty collaborate with the department on many levels to build partnerships that identify important problems, develop and translate bioengineering solutions, and train the next generation of leaders in bioengineering. 

Core Faculty

 
Bao-picture-websmallGang Bao, Ph.D. 
Foyt Family Professor
CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research
BRC, Suite 413
(713) 348-2764
Laboratory of Biomolecular Engineering
and Nanomedicine

gang.bao@rice.edu 

Caleb Bashor-xsCaleb Bashor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
caleb.bashor@rice.edu
MDeem_Web SmallMichael W. Deem, Ph.D.
John W. Cox Professor, 
Biochemical & Genetic Engineering; 
Professor, Physics & Astronomy;
Founding Director, SSPB
BRC, Suite 763
(713) 348-5852
Deem Group
mwdeem@rice.edu
 

Mike DiehlMichael Diehl, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Chemistry
BRC, Suite 515
(713) 348-4568
Synthetic Biology and Macromolecular System Bioengineering Group
diehl@rice.edu
Rebekah Drezek_ThumbnailRebekah Drezek, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering 
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Associate Chair, Department of Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 419
(713) 348-3011
Optical Molecular Imaging and
Nanobiotechnology Laboratory

drezek@rice.edu
Bilal_Ghosn_web_smallBilal Ghosn, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
Keck Hall, Suite 109
(713) 248-2648
bghosn@rice.edu
J_GrandeAllen_web_small.jpgK. Jane Grande-Allen, Ph.D.
Isabel C. Cameron Professor;
Chair, Department of Bioengineering;
BRC, Suite 619
(713) 348-3704
Integrative Matrix Mechanics Lab
grande@rice.edu

Isaac Hilton_web-small2
Isaac Hilton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research
isaac.hilton@rice.edu
131015_Oleg_Igoshin_thumbnailOleg A. Igoshin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 767
(713) 348-5502
Cellular Systems Dynamics Lab
Oleg.Igoshin@rice.edu
Levine_web_smallHerbert Levine, Ph.D.
Hasselmann Professor of Bioengineering
Co-Director, CTBP; Director, SSPB
CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research 
BRC, 10th Floor
herbert.levine@rice.edu 


Jianpeng Ma_ThumbnailJianpeng Ma, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering, 
Rice University
Lodwick T. Bolin Professor, Biochemistry 
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 765
(713) 798-8187
Ma Laboratory
jpma@bcm.tmc.edu
Mikos_2015_websmallAntonios Mikos, Ph.D.
Louis Calder Professor, Bioengineering,
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
Director, CECT; Director, CETE;
Director, J.W. Cox Laboratory
for Biomedical Engineering

BRC, Suite 625
(713) 348-5355
Mikos Research Group
mikos@rice.edu 

jordan miller-thumbnailJordan S. Miller, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 415
713-348-8357
Physiologic Systems Engineering
and Advanced Materials Laboratory
jmil@rice.edu
JMoake_WebSmallJ.D. Moake, M.D.
Sr. Research Scientist;
Assoc. Dir., J.W. Cox Lab for
Biomedical Engineering 
Rice University
Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 615
(713) 348-5357
Moake Laboratory in Hematological Research
jmoake@rice.edu  

Maria OdenZ. Maria Oden, Ph.D.
Full Teaching Professor
Director, Oshman Engineering
Design Kitchen (OEDK)

OEDK, 107
(713) 348-4156
moden@rice.edu
 
AminaAnnQutub_LabPhoto-web-smallAmina A. Qutub, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 613
(713) 348-8089
Systems Biology Laboratory
aminaq@rice.edu 

Renata_Ramos_web_smallRenata Ramos, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering;
Dir., BIOE Undergraduate Studies
Ryon Engineering Lab, Suite 111A
(713) 348-2203
Renata.Ramos@rice.edu
RRaphael_websmallRobert Raphael, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Director, Graduate Studies
BRC, Suite 719
(713) 348-3494
Membrane and Auditory
Bioengineering Group

rraphael@rice.edu 

Richards-Kortum_ThumbnailRebecca Richards-Kortum, Ph.D.
Malcolm Gillis University Professor 
Professor of Bioengineering; Professor
of Electrical & Computer Engineering; 
Director, Rice 360° Institute for Global Health; Founder, 
Beyond Traditional Borders
BRC, Suite 519
(713) 348-3823
Optical Spectroscopy and Imaging Laboratory
rkortum@rice.edu 

Eric_Richardson_web_smallEric Richardson, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
Director, Global Medical Innovation (GMI), 
M.B.E. Program

BRC, Suite 525
(713) 348-8634
richardson@rice.edu
Ka-Yiu SanKa-Yiu San, Ph.D.
E. D. Butcher Professor of Bioengineering
Professor of Chemical Engineering
BRC, Suite 815
(713) 348-5361
Metabolic Engineering and Systems
Biotechnology Laboratory

ksan@rice.edu 

Junghae_Suh_web_smallJunghae Suh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Chair, Department of Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 819
(713) 348-2853
Synthetic Virology Laboratory
jsuh@rice.edu
Jeff TaborJeffrey J. Tabor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Biochemistry & 
Cell Biology
BRC, Suite 821
(713) 348-8316
Tabor Laboratory
 jeff.tabor@rice.edu
Tomasz Tkaczyk_ThumbnailTomasz Tkaczyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
BRC, Suite 513
(713) 348-4362
Modern Optical Instrumentation and
Bio-imaging Laboratory
 
ttkaczyk@rice.edu 

Omid-Veiseh_web-smallOmid Veiseh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research
BRC, Suite 517
(713) 348-3082
Veiseh Lab
omid.veiseh@rice.edu
Sheng_Tong_smallSheng Tong, Ph.D.
Senior Faculty Fellow
BRC, Suite 463
(713) 348-8417
Laboratory of Biomolecular Engineering and Nanomedicine
sheng.tong@rice.edu 

David Zhang_web_smallDavid Yu Zhang, Ph.D.
Ted Law Jr. Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 425
(713) 348-2832
Nucleic Acid Bioengineering Laboratory
(NABLab)

david.y.zhang@rice.edu
 

Emeritus Faculty

 

William W. Akers, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
and Bioengineering
Founder, Laboratory for Biomedical Engineering

J. David Hellums, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
and Bioengineering

Joint Appointments 

 
Matthew Bennett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, BioSciences and Bioengineering
301C Keck Hall
(713) 348-4161
Bennett Lab
matthew.bennett@rice.edu
John W. Clark, Jr, Ph.D.
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering,
and Bioengineering
A224 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-3597
Clark Lab
jwc@rice.edu  

Fathi Ghorbel, Ph.D.
Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Bioengineering
205 Mechanical Engr. Bldg.
(713) 348-3738
Robotics and Intelligent Systems (RiSYS) Lab
ghorbel@rice.edu  
Ramon Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular
Engineering, and Bioengineering
B232 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-4893
Gonzalez Research Group
ramon.gonzalez@rice.edu  

Naomi J. Halas, Ph.D.
Stanley C. Moore Professor, Electrical &
Computer Engineering, Professor of Chemistry,
Physics, and Bioengineering
Director of the Laboratory for Nanophotonics;
(713) 348-5611
Halas Nanophotonics Group
halas@rice.edu  

Jeffrey D. Hartgerink, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry and Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 319
(713) 348-4142
Hartgerink Research Group
jdh@rice.edu

Lydia E. Kavraki, Ph.D.
Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science
and Bioengineering
3106 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5737
Physical & Biological Computing Group
kavraki@rice.edu

Caleb Kemere, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer
Engineering, and Bioengineering
BRC 736 and 2026 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-6089
Realtime Neural Engineering Laboratory (RNEL)
caleb.kemere@rice.edu

Ching-Hwa Kiang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Physics & Astronomy and Bioengineering
107 Herzstein Hall
(713) 348-4130
Kiang Group Page
chkiang@rice.edu  

Marek Kimmel, Ph.D.
Professor, Statistics
2097 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5255
Kimmel Group 
kimmel@rice.edu

Angel A. Martí, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry, Bioengineering,
and Materials Science and Nanoengineering
320B Dell Butcher Hall
(713) 348-3486
Angel Martí Group
amarti@rice.edu

Marie Lynn Miranda, Ph.D.
Professor, Statistics
Howard R. Hughes Provost
430 Allen Center
mlm@rice.edu  
Deepak Nagrath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Abercrombie Lab, B233
(713) 348-6408
Nagrath Lab
deepak.nagrath@rice.edu  
Jacob T. Robinson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer
Engineering, and Bioengineering
Duncan Hall, 2046
(713) 348-2933
Robinson Research Group
jacob.t.robinson@rice.edu 

Laura Segatori, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular
Engineering and Bioengineering
Abercrombie Laboratories B-238
(713) 348-3536
Segatori Research Group
segatori@rice.edu  
Jonathan (Joff) Silberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Biochemistry & Cell Biology,
and Bioengineering
209 Keck Hall
(713) 348-3849
Jonathan (Joff) Silberg Research Group
joff@rice.edu  

Frank K. Tittel, Ph.D., D.Sc.
J.S. Abercrombie Professor,
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor of Bioengineering
B208 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5955
Laser Science Group
fkt@rice.edu 

Aryeh Warmflash, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, BioSciences
and Bioengineering
344 Anderson Biological Lab
(713) 348-2456
Warmflash Lab
aryeh.warmflash@rice.edu

Kyriacos Zygourakis, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor of Chemical Engineering,
Professor of Bioengineering
B217 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5208
K. Zygourakis Home Page
kyzy@rice.edu
 

Adjunct Faculty

 

Catherine G. Ambrose, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
UT Health Science Center at Houston
(713) 500-7007
Catherine.G.Ambrose@uth.tmc.edu  

Sharmila Anandasabapathy, M.D.
Professor, Medicine and Gastroenterology;
Dir., Baylor Global Initiatives Gastroenterology
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-0950
anandasa@bcm.edu  

Jean Bismuth, M.D.
Associate Professor, Cardiovascular Surgery
Houston Methodist Cardiovascular Surgery Associates
(713) 441-5200
jbismuth@houstonmethodist.org
Maria Elena Bottazzi, Ph.D., FASTMH 
Assoc. Dean,
National School of Tropical Medicine;
Professor, Pediatric Tropical Medicine,
Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Baylor College of Medicine and
Texas Children's Hospital
Director, Product Development, (Sabin PDP)
Sabin Vaccine Institute
(832) 824-0510
bottazzi@bcm.edu 

Suneet Chauhan, M.D.
Professor, Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
UT Health Science Center at Houston
(713) 566-4545
Suneet.P.Chauhan@uth.tmc.edu  
Margaret Shun Cheung, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Physics
Senior Investigator, CTBP, Rice University
University of Houston
(713)743-8358
mscheung@uh.edu  

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-1771
Cosgriff-Hernandez Lab
cosgriff.hernandez@bme.tamu.edu 

Miguel A. Cruz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Medicine-Thrombosis
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 794-7775
miguelc@bcm.tmc.edu

Mary Dickinson, Ph.D.
Professor and Kyle and Josephine Morrow
Endowed Chair
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-2104
mdickins@bcm.edu
 
M. Waleed Gaber, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Pediatrics,
Cancer and Hematology-Oncology
Baylor College of Medicine
Texas Children’s Hospital
(832) 824-3170
gaber@bcm.edu  

Ann M. Gillenwater, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Professor and Surgeon, Head and Neck Surgery
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center;
Clinical Professor, Otolaryngology,
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 792-8841
agillenwater@mdanderson.org
Peter J. Hotez, M.D., Ph.D.
Founding Dean, National School of
Tropical Medicine; Professor, Pediatrics,
Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Baylor College of Medicine
Endowed Chair, Tropical Pediatrics
Texas Children’s Hospital
President and Director (Sabin PDP)
Sabin Vaccine Institute

(713) 798-1199
hotez@bcm.edu  

Raghu Kalluri, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, 
Department of Cancer Biology Program
Director, Metastasis Research Center
Director, MD/PhD Program and Graduate
School of Biomedical Sciences
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713)792-8733
rkalluri@mdanderson.org  

Chester J. Koh, M.D.
Associate Professor, Pediatric Urology
Texas Children's Hospital
Baylor College of Medicine
(832) 822-3160
ckoh@bcm.edu
Stephen H. Little, M.D.
Associate Professor,
Weill Medical College - Cornell University
Cardiovascular Imaging Section,
Department of Cardiology
Houston Methodist DeBakey Heart &
Vascular Center
(713) 441-1100
shlittle@houstonmethodist.org 

Joseph A. Ludwig, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine,
Sarcoma Medical Oncology
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713)792-3626
jaludwig@mdanderson.org
Anirban Maitra, M.B.B.S.
Professor, Pathology
Division of Pathology/Lab Medicine;
Scientific Director, Sheikh Ahmed Bin
Zayed  Al Nahyan Center for Pancreatic
Cancer Research
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(832) 359-2655
amaitra@mdanderson.org  

David R. Piwnica-Worms, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Cancer Systems Imaging,
Division of Diagnostic Imaging
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 745-0850
dpiwnica-worms@mdanderson.org
Medhi Razavi, M.D.
Director, Electrophysiology Clinical Research
Texas Heart Institute / St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-5570
razavi@bcm.edu 

Rodrigo Ruano, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Fetal Diagnostic and Intervention Center
Mayo Clinic
(507) 284-2317
Ann Saterbak, Ph.D.
Professor in the Practice, Biomedical Engineering
Duke University
ann.saterbak@duke.edu
Andrew G. Sikora, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chair, Research;
Co-Director, Head and Neck Cancer Program
Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-5907
Andrew Sikora Lab
Andrew.sikora@bcm.edu  
Konstantin Sokolov, Ph.D.
Professor, Imaging Physics
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 745-0620
ksokolov@mdanderson.org