Rice University logo Bioengineering, George R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Top blue bar image Bioengineering
 

Bioengineering Faculty Members

The Department of Bioengineering's core faculty, emeritus, joint appointments, and adjunct faculty serve as the backbone to the department's overall strength and competitive ranking as an internationally recognized teaching and research institution.

Currently, 27 research and teaching faculty members have primary appointments in the department, and many hold joint appointments with several institutions of the Texas Medical Center. The department also benefits from 20 multi-disciplinary joint appointments within various science and engineering departments at Rice. In addition, a network of adjunct faculty collaborate with the department on many levels to build partnerships that identify important problems, develop and translate bioengineering solutions, and train the next generation of leaders in bioengineering.

Core Faculty

 
Bao-picture-websmallGang Bao, Ph.D. 
Foyt Family Professor
BRC, Suite 413
(713) 348-2764
Laboratory of Biomolecular Engineering and Nanomedicine
gang.bao@rice.edu  

Michael W. Deem, Ph.D.
John W. Cox Professor,
Biochemical & Genetic Engineering;
Professor, Physics & Astronomy;
Chair, Department of Bioengineering;
Founding Director, SSPB
BRC, Suite 763
(713) 348-5852
Deem Group
mwdeem@rice.edu

Mike DiehlMichael Diehl, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Chemistry
BRC, Suite 515
(713) 348-4568
Synthetic Biology and Macromolecular
Systems
Bioengineering Group

diehl@rice.edu 

Rebekah Drezek_ThumbnailRebekah Drezek, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
BRC, Suite 419
(713) 348-3011
Optical Molecular Imaging and
Nanobiotechnology Laboratory

drezek@rice.edu

Bilal_Ghosn_web_smallBilal Ghosn, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
Mechanical Lab 201
(713) 248-2648
bghosn@rice.edu

J_GrandeAllen_web_small.jpgK. Jane Grande-Allen, Ph.D.
Isabel C. Cameron Professor
of Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 619
(713) 348-3704
Integrative Matrix Mechanics Lab
grande@rice.edu  

131015_Oleg_Igoshin_thumbnailOleg A. Igoshin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 767
(713) 348-5502
Igoshin Laboratory
Oleg.Igoshin@rice.edu

Jeff Jacot_ThumbnailJeffrey G. Jacot, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Rice University/Texas Children’s
BRC, Ste. 725/Feigin Center c.450.09
(832) 824-5822
Jacot Laboratory
Jeff.Jacot@rice.edu

Levine_web_smallHerbert Levine, Ph.D.
Hasselmann Professor of Bioengineering
Director, Center for Theoretical Biological Physics
BRC, 10th Floor
herbert.levine@rice.edu

Jianpeng Ma_ThumbnailJianpeng Ma, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering,
Rice University
Lodwick T. Bolin Professor, Biochemistry
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 765
(713) 798-8187
Ma Laboratory
jpma@bcm.tmc.edu

Mikos_2015_websmallAntonios Mikos, Ph.D.
Louis Calder Professor, Bioengineering,
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
Director, Center for Excellence in
Tissue Engineering;
Director, J.W. Cox Laboratory for
Biomedical Engineering
BRC, Suite 625
(713) 348-5355
Mikos Laboratory
mikos@rice.edu

jordan miller-thumbnailJordan S. Miller, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 415
713-348-8357
jmil@rice.edu 

Joel Moake_thumbnailJ.D. Moake, M.D.
Sr. Research Scientist;
Assoc. Dir., J.W. Cox Lab for
Biomedical Engineering
Rice University
Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 825
(713) 348-5357
Moake Laboratory in Hematological Research
jmoake@rice.edu

Maria Oden_ThumbnailZ. Maria Oden, Ph.D.
Professor in the Practice of
Engineering Education;
Director, Oshman Engineering
Design Kitchen
OEDK, 107
(713) 348-4156
Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
moden@rice.edu
AminaAnnQutub_LabPhoto-web-smallAmina A. Qutub, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 613
(713) 348-8089
Systems Biology Laboratory
aminaq@rice.edu

Renata_Ramos_web_smallRenata Ramos, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering;
Dir., BIOE Undergraduate Studies
Ryon Engineering Lab, Suite 111A
(713) 348-2203
Renata.Ramos@rice.edu

 

Rob RaphaelRobert Raphael, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Director, Graduate Studies
BRC, Suite 719
(713) 348-3494
Membrane and Auditory Bioengineering Group
rraphael@rice.edu  

Richards-Kortum_ThumbnailRebecca Richards-Kortum, Ph.D.
Malcolm Gillis University Professor;
Director, Rice 360°: Institute for
Global Health;
 Director, IBB;
Founder, Beyond Traditional Borders
BRC, Suite 519
(713) 348-3823
Optical Spectroscopy and Imaging Laboratory
rkortum@rice.edu

Eric_Richardson_web_smallEric Richardson, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 525
(713) 348-8634
richardson@rice.edu

Ka-Yiu SanKa-Yiu San, Ph.D.
E. D. Butcher Professor of Bioengineering
Professor of Chemical Engineering
BRC, Suite 815
(713) 348-5361
Metabolic Engineering and Systems
Biotechnology Laboratory

ksan@rice.edu

Ann Saterbak_ThumbnailAnn Saterbak, Ph.D.
Professor in the Practice, 
Bioengineering Education;
Associate Dean, Engineering Education; Dir., BIOE Undergraduate Studies
109 Keck Hall
(713) 348-6243
saterbak@rice.edu

Volker_Schweikhard_Rice_smallVolker Schweikhard, Ph.D. 
Research Assistant Professor
BRC, Suite 517
(713) 348-3082
volker.schweikhard@rice.edu

Junghae_Suh_web_smallJunghae Suh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 819
(713) 348-2853
Synthetic Virology Laboratory
jsuh@rice.edu

Jeff TaborJeffrey J. Tabor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry & Cell Biology
BRC, Suite 821
(713) 348-8316
Tabor Laboratory
jeff.tabor@rice.edu

Tomasz Tkaczyk_ThumbnailTomasz Tkaczyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Electrical &
Computer Engineering
BRC, Suite 513
(713) 348-4362
Modern Optical Instrumentation
and Bio-imaging Laboratory

ttkaczyk@rice.edu

Sheng_Tong_smallSheng Tong, Ph.D.
Senior Faculty Fellow
BRC, Suite
(713) 348-
Laboratory of Biomolecular Engineering and Nanomedicine
sheng.tong@rice.edu

David Zhang_web_smallDavid Yu Zhang, Ph.D.
Ted Law Jr. Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 425
(713) 348-2832
Nucleic Acid Bioengineering Laboratory (NABLab)
david.y.zhang@rice.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

William W. Akers, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
and Bioengineering
Founding Chair, Department of Bioengineering

 

J. David Hellums, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
and Bioengineering

Joint Appointments 

 
Matthew Bennett, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry & Cell Biology,
and Bioengineering
301C Keck Hall
(713) 348-4161
Bennett Lab
matthew.bennett@rice.edu
John W. Clark, Jr, Ph.D.
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering,
and Bioengineering
A224 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-3597
Clark Lab
jwc@rice.edu  

Cindy Farach-Carson, Ph.D.
Looney Professor,
Biosciences & Bioengineering;
Scientific Dir., BRC;
Vice Provost for Translational Biosciences
BRC, Suite 140C
(713) 348-5052
farachca@rice.edu

Fathi Ghorbel, Ph.D.
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
& Materials Science, and Bioengineering
205 Mechanical Engr. Bldg.
(713) 348-3738
Robotics and Intelligent Systems (RiSYS) Lab
ghorbel@rice.edu

Ramon Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular
Engineering, and Bioengineering
B232 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-4893
Gonzalez Research Group
ramon.gonzalez@rice.edu

Naomi J. Halas, Ph.D.
Stanley C. Moore Professor, Electrical &
Computer Engineering, Professor of Chemistry,
Physics, and Bioengineering
Director of the Laboratory for Nanophotonics;
(713) 348-5611
Halas Nanophotonics Group
halas@rice.edu

Jeffrey D. Hartgerink, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry and Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 319
(713) 348-4142
Hartgerink Research Group
jdh@rice.edu  

Lydia E. Kavraki, Ph.D.
Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science
and Bioengineering
3106 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5737
Physical & Biological Computing Group
kavraki@rice.edu  

Caleb Kemere, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer
Engineering, and Bioengineering
BRC 736 and 2026 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-6089
Realtime Neural Engineering Laboratory (RNEL)
caleb.kemere@rice.edu

Ching-Hwa Kiang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Physics & Astronomy and Bioengineering
107 Herzstein Hall
(713) 348-4130
Kiang Group Page
chkiang@rice.edu

Marek Kimmel, Ph.D.
Professor, Statistics
2097 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5255
Kimmel Group 
kimmel@rice.edu

Angel A. Martí, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry, Bioengineering,
and Materials Science and Nanoengineering
320B Dell Butcher Hall
(713) 348-3486
Angel Martí Group
amarti@rice.edu
Marie Lynn Miranda, Ph.D.
Professor, Statistics
Howard R. Hughes Provost
430 Allen Center
mlm@rice.edu  
Deepak Nagrath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Abercrombie Lab, B233
(713) 348-6408
Nagrath Lab
deepak.nagrath@rice.edu
Jacob T. Robinson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer
Engineering, and Bioengineering
Duncan Hall, 2046
(713) 348-2933
Robinson Research Group
jacob.t.robinson@rice.edu

Laura Segatori, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular
Engineering and Bioengineering
Abercrombie Laboratories B-238
(713) 348-3536
Segatori Research Group
segatori@rice.edu

Jonathan (Joff) Silberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Biochemistry & Cell Biology,
and Bioengineering
209 Keck Hall
(713) 348-3849
Jonathan (Joff) Silberg Research Group
joff@rice.edu

Frank K. Tittel, Ph.D., D.Sc.
J.S. Abercrombie Professor,
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor of Bioengineering
B208 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5955
Laser Science Group
fkt@rice.edu

Aryeh Warmflash, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Biosciences
and Bioengineering
344 Anderson Biological Lab
(713) 348-2456
Warmflash Lab
aryeh.warmflash@rice.edu

Kyriacos Zygourakis, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor of Chemical Engineering,
Professor of Bioengineering
B217 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5208
K. Zygourakis Home Page
kyzy@rice.edu

Adjunct Faculty

 

Aviva Presser Aiden, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Resident
Department of Molecular and Human Genetics
Baylor College of Medicine
Aiden Lab
apaiden@bcm.edu

Catherine G. Ambrose, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
UT Health Science Center at Houston
(713) 500-7007
Catherine.G.Ambrose@uth.tmc.edu  

Sharmila Anandasabapathy, M.D.
Professor, Medicine and Gastroenterology;
Dir., Baylor Global Initiatives Gastroenterology
Baylor College of Medicine
anandasa@bcm.edu

Maria Elena Bottazzi, Ph.D., FASTMH 
Assoc. Dean,
National School of Tropical Medicine;
Professor, Pediatric Tropical Medicine,
Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Baylor College of Medicine and
Texas Children's Hospital
Director, Product Development, (Sabin PDP)
Sabin Vaccine Institute
(832) 824-0510
bottazzi@bcm.edu  

William Brownell, Ph.D.
Jake and Nina Kamin Chair;
Professor Bobby R. Alford, Otolaryngology
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-8540
brownnell@bcm.tmc.edu

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Texas A&M University
(713) 677-7557
Cosgriff-Hernandez Lab
cosgriff.hernandez@bme.tamu.edu

Miguel A. Cruz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Medicine-Thrombosis
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-3485
miguelc@bcm.tmc.edu
Mary Dickinson, Ph.D.
Professor and Kyle and Josephine Morrow
Endowed Chair
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-2104
mdickins@bcm.tmc.edu

Rena D'Souza, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Professor and Dean
University of Utah School of Dentistry
Health Sciences Education Building
School of Dentistry
(801) 587-1199

Mauro Ferrari, Ph.D.
President and CEO;
Ernest Cockrell Jr. Distinguished Chair,
Houston Methodist Research Institute;
President, Alliance for NanoHealth (ANH);
Senior Assoc. Dean and Prof. of Medicine
Weill Medical College - Cornell University
(713) 441-8439
mferrari@houstonmethodist.org

Aaron E. Foster, Ph.D.
Director, Product Discovery
Bellicum Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
afoster@bellicum.com

Charles Fraser, Jr. M.D.
Surgeon-in-Chief;
Co-director, Texas Children's Heart Center  
Texas Children’s Hospital;
Chief, Division of Congenital Heart Surgery
Baylor College of Medicine
(832) 826-1929
congheartcenter@texaschildrenshospital.org

M. Waleed Gaber, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Pediatrics,
Cancer and Hematology-Oncology
Baylor College of Medicine
Texas Children’s Hospital
(832) 824-3170
mwgaber@txch.org

Ann M. Gillenwater, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Professor and Surgeon, Head and Neck Surgery
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center;
Clinical Professor, Otolaryngology,
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 792-8841
agillenwater@mdanderson.org  

Michael J. Heffernan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Tropical Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
(832) 824-0512
michael.heffernan@bcm.edu

Peter J. Hotez, M.D., Ph.D.
Founding Dean, National School of
Tropical Medicine; Professor, Pediatrics,
Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Baylor College of Medicine
Endowed Chair, Tropical Pediatrics
Texas Children’s Hospital
President and Director (Sabin PDP)
Sabin Vaccine Institute

(713) 798-1199
hotez@bcm.edu  

Raghu Kalluri, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, 
Department of Cancer Biology Program
Director, Metastasis Research Center
Director, MD/PhD Program and Graduate
School of Biomedical Sciences
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713)792-8733
rkalluri@mdanderson.org

F. Kurtis Kasper, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Orthodontics
School of Dentistry
UT Health Science Center, Houston
(713) 486-4174
Fred.K.Kasper@uth.tmc.edu
King C. Li, M.D., F.R.C.P.(C), M.B.A.
Senior Member;
Chair, Department of Translational Imaging;
Director, Molecular Imaging Program;
Methodist Hospital
Professor, Radiology
Weill Cornel Medical College
(713) 441-4863
kli@houstonmethodist.org

Stephen H. Little, M.D.
Associate Professor,
Weill Medical College - Cornell University
Cardiovascular Imaging Section,
Department of Cardiology
Houston Methodist DeBakey Heart &
Vascular Center
(713) 441-1100
shlittle@tmhs.org

Joseph A. Ludwig, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine,
Sarcoma Medical Oncology
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
jaludwig@mdanderson.org

Anirban Maitra, M.B.B.S.
Professor, Pathology
Division of Pathology/Lab Medicine;
Scientific Director, Sheikh Ahmed Bin
Zayed  Al Nahyan Center for Pancreatic
Cancer Research
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center

Niki Marie Zacharias Millward, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Cancer Systems Imaging
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 792-5226
nmzacharias@mdanderson.org
D. Steven Millward, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Cancer Systems Imaging
MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 792-5227
SMillward@mdanderson.org
John T. McDevitt, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair,
Biomaterials and Biomimetics
New York University College of Dentistry
mcdevitt@nyu.edu
David R. Piwnica-Worms, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Cancer Systems Imaging,
Division of Diagnostic Imaging
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 745-0850
dpiwnica-worms@mdanderson.org

Medhi Razavi, M.D.
Director, Electrophysiology Clinical Research
Texas Heart Institute / St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 529-5530
razavi@bcm.edu

Robert C. Robbins, M.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Texas Medical Center
(713) 791-8800
robert.c.robbins@rice.edu
RCR@texasmedicalcenter.org
Rodrigo Ruano, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Baylor College of Medicine
Co-director, Fetal Center at Pavilion for Women
Texas Children’s Hospital
(832) 826-3737
ruano@bcm.edu

Peter Saggau, Ph.D.
Professor, Neuroscience
Baylor College of Medicine
psaggau@bcm.tmc.edu

 

Jacqueline V. Shanks, Ph.D.
Manley Hoppe Professor,
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Iowa State University
(515) 294-4828
jshanks@iastate.edu
Andrew G. Sikora, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chair, Research;
Co-Director, Head and Neck Cancer Program
Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-7935
Andrew Sikora Lab
Andrew.sikora@bcm.edu

Konstantin Sokolov, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Imaging Physics
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(512) 471-7440
ksokolov@mdanderson.org

Karen A. Storthz, Ph.D.
Professor, Emerita
Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences
UT School of Dentistry
(713) 299-8795
Karen.A.Storthz@uth.tmc.edu
Mark E. Wong, D.D.S.
Professor, Chair and Program Director
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
UTHealth School of Dentistry
(713) 486-4310
mark.e.wong@uth.tmc.edu