Rice University logo Bioengineering, George R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Top blue bar image Bioengineering
 

Contact Us

Department of Bioengineering
bioeng@rice.edu

Mailing Address:
MS-142, 6100 Main Street
Houston, TX 77005-1892

Physical Address:
6500 Main Street, Suite 135
Houston, TX 77030

Phone: 713.348.5869
Fax: 713.348.5877 

Find us on:
Facebook IconFacebook and
LinkedInLinkedIn

Share/Bookmark

 

 
Bioengineering Faculty Members

The Department of Bioengineering's core faculty, emeritus, joint appointments, and adjunct faculty serve as the backbone to the department's overall strength and competitive ranking as an internationally recognized teaching and research institution.

Currently, 25 research and teaching faculty members have primary appointments in the department, and many hold joint appointments with several institutions of the Texas Medical Center. The department also benefits from 17 multi-disciplinary joint appointments within various science and engineering departments at Rice. In addition, a network of adjunct faculty collaborate with the department on many levels to build partnerships that identify important problems, develop and translate bioengineering solutions, and train the next generation of leaders in bioengineering.

Core Faculty

2014 Department Committee Assignments 

 

Michael Deem Michael W. Deem, Ph.D.
John W. Cox Professor, Biochemical &
Genetic Engineering; Professor, Physics & Astronomy; Chair, Department of Bioengineering; Founding Director, SSPB
BRC, Suite 763
(713) 348-5852
Deem Group
mwdeem@rice.edu

Mike DiehlMichael Diehl, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Chemistry
BRC, Suite 515
(713) 348-4568
Macromolecular Systems
Bioengineering Group

diehl@rice.edu  

Rebekah Drezek_ThumbnailRebekah Drezek, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
BRC, Suite 419
(713) 348-3011
Optical Molecular Imaging and
Nanobiotechnology Laboratory

drezek@rice.edu

Bilal_Ghosn_web_smallBilal Ghosn, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
Mechanical Lab 201
(713) 248-2648
bghosn@rice.edu  

 

Jane Grade-Allen_ThumbnailK. Jane Grande-Allen, Ph.D.
Isabel C. Cameron Professor of Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 619
(713) 348-3704
Integrative Matrix Mechanics Lab
grande@rice.edu  

131015_Oleg_Igoshin_thumbnailOleg A. Igoshin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 767
(713) 348-5502
Igoshin Laboratory
Oleg.Igoshin@rice.edu  

Jeff Jacot_ThumbnailJeffrey G. Jacot, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Rice University/Texas Children’s
BRC, Ste. 628/Feigin Center c.450.09
(832) 824-5822
Jacot Laboratory
Jeff.Jacot@rice.edu

Levine_web_smallHerbert Levine, Ph.D.
Hasselmann Professor of Bioengineering
Director, Center for Theoretical Biological Physics
BRC, 10th Floor
herbert.levine@rice.edu

Jianpeng Ma_ThumbnailJianpeng Ma, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering,
Rice University
Lodwick T. Bolin Professor, Biochemistry
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 765
(713) 798-8187
Ma Laboratory
jpma@bcm.tmc.edu

John McDevitt_thumbnailJohn T. McDevitt, Ph.D.
Brown-Wiess Professor of Bioengineering and Chemistry
BRC, Suite 317
(713) 348-2123
Lab-on-a-Chip Sensor Technologies, tastechip.com
mcdevitt@rice.edu

Antonios Mikos_ThumbnailAntonios Mikos, Ph.D.
Louis Calder Professor, Bioengineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
Director, Center for Excellence in Tissue Engineering; Director, J.W. Cox Laboratory for Biomedical Engineering
BRC, Suite 625
(713) 348-5355
Mikos Laboratory
mikos@rice.edu

jordan miller-thumbnail Jordan S. Miller, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 415
713-348-8357
jmil@rice.edu 

Joel Moake_thumbnailJ.D. Moake, M.D.
Sr. Research Scientist, Assoc. Dir., J.W. Cox Lab for Biomedical Engineering,
Rice University;
Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 825
(713) 348-5357
Moake Laboratory
jmoake@rice.edu

Maria Oden_ThumbnailZ. Maria Oden, Ph.D.
Professor in the Practice of
Engineering Education;
Director, Oshman Engineering
Design Kitchen
OEDK, 107
(713) 348-4156
Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
moden@rice.edu
AminaAnnQutub_LabPhoto-web-smallAmina A. Qutub, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 613
(713) 348-8089
Systems Biology Laboratory
aminaq@rice.edu

Renata_Ramos_web_smallRenata Ramos, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering;
Director, Bioengineering Undergraduate Studies
Ryon Engineering Lab, Suite 111A
(713) 348-2203
Renata.Ramos@rice.edu

Rob RaphaelRobert Raphael, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Director, Graduate Studies
BRC, Suite 719
(713) 348-3494
Membrane and Auditory Bioengineering Group
rraphael@rice.edu  

Richards-Kortum_ThumbnailRebecca Richards-Kortum, Ph.D.
Stanley C. Moore Professor of Bioengineering; Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Director, Rice 360°: Institute for Global Health Technologies;
Founder, Beyond Traditional Borders
BRC, Suite 519
(713) 348-3823
Optical Spectroscopy and Imaging Laboratory
rkortum@rice.edu

Eric_Richardson_web_smallEric Richardson, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 525
(713) 348-8634
richardson@rice.edu

Ka-Yiu SanKa-Yiu San, Ph.D.
E. D. Butcher Professor of Bioengineering
Professor of Chemical Engineering
BRC, Suite 815
(713) 348-5361
Metabolic Engineering and Systems
Biotechnology Laboratory

ksan@rice.edu

Ann Saterbak_ThumbnailAnn Saterbak, Ph.D.
Professor in the Practice
of Bioengineering Education;
Associate Dean, Engineering Education; Director, Bioengineering Undergraduate Studies
109 Keck Hall
(713) 348-6243
saterbak@rice.edu

Junghae_Suh_web_smallJunghae Suh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 819
(713) 348-2853
Synthetic Virology Laboratory
jsuh@rice.edu

Jeff TaborJeffrey J. Tabor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry and Cell Biology
BRC, Suite 821
(713) 348-8316
Tabor Laboratory
jeff.tabor@rice.edu

Tomasz Tkaczyk_ThumbnailTomasz Tkaczyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Electrical &
Computer Engineering
BRC, Suite 513
(713) 348-4362
Modern Optical Instrumentation
and Bio-imaging Laboratory

ttkaczyk@rice.edu

David Zhang_web_smallDavid Yu Zhang, Ph.D.
Ted Law Jr. Assistant Professor of Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 425
(713) 348-2832
Nucleic Acid Bioengineering Laboratory (NABLab)
david.y.zhang@rice.edu

  

Emeritus Faculty

 

William W. Akers, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Bioengineering
Founding Chair, Department of Bioengineering

 

J. David Hellums, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Bioengineering

Joint Appointments 

 

John W. Clark, Jr, Ph.D.
Professor,
Electrical & Computer Engineering and Bioengineering
A224 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-3597
jwc@rice.edu  

Cindy Farach-Carson, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Translational Bioscience
Professor, Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Professor, Bioengineering
Scientific Director, BioScience Research Collaborative (BRC)
W105 GRB Hall
BRC, Suite 611
(713) 348-5052
farachca@rice.edu

Fathi Ghorbel, Ph.D.
Professor,
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science
and Bioengineering
205 Mechanical Engr. Bldg.
(713) 348-3738
Robotics and Intelligent Systems (RiSYS) Laboratory
ghorbel@rice.edu  

Ramon Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering,
Bioengineering
B232 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-4893
Gonzalez Research Group
ramon.gonzalez@rice.edu  

Naomi J. Halas, Ph.D.
Stanley C. Moore Professor, Electrical &
Computer Engineering, Professor of Chemistry,
Physics, and Bioengineering
Director of the Laboratory for Nanophotonics;
(713) 348-5611
Halas Nanophotonics Group
halas@rice.edu   

Jeffrey D. Hartgerink, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry and Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 319
(713) 348-4142
Hartgerink Research Group
jdh@rice.edu  

Lydia E. Kavraki, Ph.D.
Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science
and Bioengineering
3106 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5737
Physical & Biological Computing Group
kavraki@rice.edu  

Caleb Kemere, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Bioengineering
BRC 736 and 2026 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-6089
Realtime Neural Engineering Laboratory (RNEL)
caleb.kemere@rice.edu  

Ching-Hwa Kiang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Physics & Astronomy and Bioengineering
107 Herzstein Hall
(713) 348-4130
Kiang Group Page
chkiang@rice.edu  

Marek Kimmel, Ph.D.
Professor, Statistics
2097 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5255
kimmel@rice.edu
Kimmel Group

Angel A. Martí, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Bioengineering
320B Dell Butcher Hall
(713) 348-3486
amarti@rice.edu
Angel Martí Group  

Deepak Nagrath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Abercrombie Lab, B233
(713) 348-6408
deepak.nagrath@rice.edu
Nagrath Lab  

Jacob T. Robinson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer
Engineering, and Bioengineering
Duncan Hall, 2046
(713) 348-2933
jacob.t.robinson@rice.edu
Robinson Research Group

Laura Segatori, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular
Engineering and Bioengineering
Abercrombie Laboratories B-238
(713) 348-3536
Segatori Research Group
segatori@rice.edu  

Jonathan (Joff) Silberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Biochemistry & Cell Biology, Bioengineering
209 Keck Hall
(713) 348-3849
Jonathan (Joff) Silberg Research Group
joff@rice.edu

Frank K. Tittel, Ph.D., D.Sc.
J.S. Abercrombie Professor,
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor of Bioengineering
B208 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5955
Laser Science Group
fkt@rice.edu  

Kyriacos Zygourakis, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor of Chemical Engineering,
Professor of Bioengineering
B217 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5208
K. Zygourakis Home Page
kyzy@rice.edu  

   

Adjunct Faculty

 

Aviva Presser Aiden, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Resident
Department of Molecular and Human Genetics
Baylor College of Medicine
Aiden Lab
apaiden@bcm.edu  

Catherine G. Ambrose, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
UT Health Science Center at Houston
(713) 500-7007
Catherine.G.Ambrose@uth.tmc.edu  

Sharmila Anandasabapathy, M.D.
Professor, Medicine and Gastroenterology
Director, Baylor Global Initiatives Gastroenterology
Baylor College of Medicine
anandasa@bcm.edu

 

Gábor Balázsi, Ph.D.
Henry Laufer Associate Professor of Physical & Quantitative Biology
Laufer Center for Physical & Quantitative Biology & Department of Biomedical Engineering
SUNY - Stony Brook University
Balázsi Lab
Neel Bhatavadekar, B.D.S., M.S., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor, Periodontology
UT Health Science Center at Houston Dental Branch
Neel.Bhatavadekar@uth.tmc.edu 

 

Manoop S. Bhutani, M.D., F.A.S.G.E.,
F.A.C.G., A.G.A.F., F.A.C.P.

Professor
Medicine & Experimental Diagnostic Imaging
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 794-5073
Manoop.Bhutani@mdanderson.org

Maria Elena Bottazzi, Ph.D., FASTMH 
Associate Dean, National School of Tropical Medicine; Professor, Pediatric Tropical Medicine, Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Baylor College of Medicine and
Texas Children's Hospital
Director, Product Development (Sabin PDP)
Sabin Vaccine Institute
(832) 824-0510
bottazzi@bcm.edu  

William Brownell, Ph.D.
Jake and Nina Kamin Chair
Professor Bobby R. Alford, Otolaryngology
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-8540
brownnell@bcm.tmc.edu  

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Texas A&M University
(713) 677-7557
Cosgriff-Hernandez Lab
cosgriff.hernandez@bme.tamu.edu  

Miguel A. Cruz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Medicine-Thrombosis
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-3485
miguelc@bcm.tmc.edu  

Mary Dickinson, Ph.D.
Professor; 
Kyle and Josephine Morrow Endowed Chair
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-2104
mdickins@bcm.tmc.edu  

Rena D'Souza, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Professor and Dean
University of Utah School of Dentistry
Health Sciences Education Building
School of Dentistry
(801) 587-1199 

Mauro Ferrari, Ph.D.
President and CEO
Ernest Cockrell Jr. Distinguished Chair,
Houston Methodist Research Institute;
President, Alliance for NanoHealth (ANH);
Senior Associate Dean and Professor of Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University
(713) 441-8439
mferrari@houstonmethodist.org

Aaron E. Foster, Ph.D.
Director, Product Discovery
Bellicum Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
afoster@bellicum.com  

Charles Fraser, Jr. M.D.
Surgeon-in-Chief
Co-director Texas Children's Heart Center  
Texas Children’s Hospital;
Chief, Division of Congenital Heart Surgery
Baylor College of Medicine
(832) 826-1929
congheartcenter@texaschildrenshospital.org

M. Waleed Gaber, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Cancer and Hematology-Oncology
Baylor College of Medicine
Texas Children’s Hospital
(832) 824-3170
mwgaber@txch.org  

Ann M. Gillenwater, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Professor and Surgeon, Head and Neck Surgery
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center;
Clinical Professor, Otolaryngology,
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 792-8841
agillenwater@mdanderson.org  

Ido Golding, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-4193
Ido Golding Lab
golding@bcm.edu  

Michael J. Heffernan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Tropical Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
(832) 824-0512
michael.heffernan@bcm.edu  

Peter J. Hotez, M.D., Ph.D.
Founding Dean, National School of Tropical Medicine; Professor, Pediatrics, Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Baylor College of Medicine
Endowed Chair, Tropical Pediatrics
Texas Children’s Hospital
President and Director (Sabin PDP)
Sabin Vaccine Institute

(713) 798-1199
hotez@bcm.edu  

King C. Li, M.D., F.R.C.P.(C), M.B.A.
Senior Member
Chair, Department of Translational Imaging;
Director, Molecular Imaging Program;
Methodist Hospital
Professor, Radiology
Weill Cornel Medical College
(713) 441-4863
kli@houstonmethodist.org  

 

Stephen H. Little, M.D.
Associate Professor,
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Cardiovascular Imaging Section,
Department of Cardiology
Houston Methodist DeBakey Heart &
Vascular Center
(713) 441-1100
shlittle@tmhs.org

Joseph A. Ludwig, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Sarcoma Medical Oncology
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
jaludwig@mdanderson.org

Steve Millward, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Cancer Systems Imaging
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
713-792-5227
smillward@mdanderson.org

Niki Zacharias Millward, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Cancer Systems Imaging
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 792-5226
nmzacharias@mdanderson.org  

John S. Oghalai, M.D.
Associate Professor, Otolaryngology-Head and
Neck Surgery, Stanford University;
Director, Children’s Hearing Center,
Lucille Packard Children’s Hospital,
(650) 721-2781
Stanfordjoghalai@ohns.stanford.edu  

Kathryn E. Peek, Ph.D.
President/CEO
KEP Consulting, LLC
Consultant
Texas Heart Institute

David R. Piwnica-Worms, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Cancer Systems Imaging, Division of Diagnostic Imaging
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
(713) 745-0850
dpiwnica-worms@mdanderson.org  

Medhi Razavi, M.D.
Director, Electrophysiology Clinical Research
Texas Heart Institute / St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 529-5530
razavi@bcm.edu  

Rodrigo Ruano, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Baylor College of Medicine
Co-director, Fetal Center at Pavilion for Women
Texas Children’s Hospital
(832) 826-3737
ruano@bcm.edu

Peter Saggau, Ph.D.
Professor, Neuroscience
Baylor College of Medicine
psaggau@bcm.tmc.edu  

Jacqueline V. Shanks, Ph.D.
Manley Hoppe Professor,
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Iowa State University
(515) 294-4828
jshanks@iastate.edu

Konstantin Sokolov, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Imaging Physics
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
(512) 471-7440
ksokolov@mdanderson.org
Karen A. Storthz, Ph.D.
Professor, Emerita
Department of Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences
UT School of Dentistry
(713) 299-8795
Karen.A.Storthz@uth.tmc.edu  

Mark E. Wong, D.D.S.
Professor, Chair and Program Director
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
UTHealth School of Dentistry
(713) 486-4310
mark.e.wong@uth.tmc.edu  

Stephen T.C. Wong, Ph.D.
Full Member;
John S. Dunn, Sr. Presidential Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Engineering;
Department Chair, Systems Medicine and Bioengineering;
Houston Methodist Research Institute
(713) 441-5883
stwong@houstonmethodist.org

Samuel Miao-Sin Wu, Ph.D.
Professor, Ophthalmology
Baylor College of Medicine
(713) 798-5966
swu@bcm.tmc.edu