Rice University logo Bioengineering, George R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Top blue bar image Bioengineering
 

Contact Us

Department of Bioengineering
bioeng@rice.edu

Mailing Address:
MS-142, 6100 Main Street
Houston, TX 77005-1892

Physical Address:
6500 Main Street, Suite 135
Houston, TX 77030

Phone: 713.348.5869
Fax: 713.348.5877 

Find us on:
Facebook IconFacebook and
LinkedInLinkedIn

Share/Bookmark

 

Bioengineering Faculty Members

The Department of Bioengineering's core faculty, emeritus, joint appointments, and adjunct faculty serve as the backbone to the department's overall strength and competitive ranking as an internationally recognized teaching and research institution.

Currently, 26 research and teaching faculty members have primary appointments in the department, and many hold joint appointments with several institutions of the Texas Medical Center. The department also benefits from 16 multi-disciplinary joint appointments within various science and engineering departments at Rice. In addition, a network of adjunct faculty collaborate with the department on many levels to build partnerships that identify important problems, develop and translate bioengineering solutions, and train the next generation of leaders in bioengineering.

Core Faculty

2013 Department Committee Assignments  

 

Michael DeemMichael W. Deem, Ph.D.
John W. Cox Professor,
Biochemical & Genetic Engineering, Professor of Physics & Astronomy, Associate Chair, Research
& Faculty Affairs

BRC, Suite 763
(713) 348-5852
Deem Group
mwdeem@rice.edu  

Mike DiehlMichael Diehl, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Professor, Chemistry
BRC, Suite 515
(713) 348-4568
Macromolecular Systems
Bioengineering Group

diehl@rice.edu  

 

Rebekah Drezek_ThumbnailRebekah Drezek, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
BRC, Suite 419
(713) 348-3011
Optical Molecular Imaging and
Nanobiotechnology Laboratory

drezek@rice.edu
Bilal_Ghosn_web_smallBilal Ghosn, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
Mechanical Eng. Building, Suite 201
(713) 248-2648
bghosn@rice.edu  

Jane Grade-Allen_ThumbnailK. Jane Grande-Allen, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Chair, External Partnerships
BRC, Suite 619
(713) 348-3704
Integrative Matrix Mechanics Lab
grande@rice.edu  

131015_Oleg_Igoshin_thumbnailOleg A. Igoshin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 767
(713) 348-5502
Igoshin Laboratory
Oleg.Igoshin@rice.edu  

Jeff Jacot_ThumbnailJeffrey G. Jacot, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Rice University/Texas Children’s
BRC, Ste. 628/Feigin Center c.450.09
(832) 824-5822
Jacot Laboratory
Jeff.Jacot@rice.edu

Kurt_Kasper_thumbnailKurt Kasper, Ph.D.
Senior Faculty Fellow, Bioengineering
E 200 G George R. Brown Hall
BRC, Suite 627
(713) 348-3027
kasper@rice.edu

Levine_web_smallHerbert Levine, Ph.D.
Hasselmann Professor of Bioengineering
Director, Center for Theoretical Biological Physics
BRC, 10th Floor
herbert.levine@rice.edu

Jianpeng Ma_ThumbnailJianpeng Ma, Ph.D.
Professor, Bioengineering, Rice University
Lodwick T. Bolin Professor, Biochemistry
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 765
(713) 798-8187
Ma Laboratory
jpma@bcm.tmc.edu

John McDevitt_thumbnailJohn T. McDevitt, Ph.D.
Brown-Wiess Professor of Bioengineering and Chemistry
BRC, Suite 317
(713) 348-2123
Lab-on-a-Chip Sensor Technologies, tastechip.com
mcdevitt@rice.edu  

Antonios Mikos_ThumbnailAntonios Mikos, Ph.D.
Louis Calder Professor, Bioengineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
Director, Center for Excellence in Tissue Engineering; Director, J.W. Cox Laboratory for Biomedical Engineering
BRC, Suite 625
(713) 348-5355
Mikos Laboratory
mikos@rice.edu

jordan miller-thumbnailJordan S. Miller, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 415
713-348-8357
jmil@rice.edu  

 

Joel Moake_thumbnailJoel Moake, M.D.
Sr. Research Scientist, Assoc. Dir., J.W. Cox Lab for Biomedical Engineering,
Rice University;
Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
BRC, Suite 825
(713) 348-5357
Moake Laboratory
jmoake@rice.edu  

Maria Oden_ThumbnailZ. Maria Oden, Ph.D.
Professor in the Practice of
Engineering Education;
Dir., Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen, 107
(713) 348-4156
Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
moden@rice.edu

Amina QutubAmina A. Qutub, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 613
(713) 348-8089
Systems Biology Laboratory
aminaq@rice.edu  

 

Renata_Ramos_web_smallRenata Ramos, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
Ryon Engineering Lab, Suite 111A
(713) 348-2203
Renata.Ramos@rice.edu

Rob RaphaelRobert Raphael, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Chair, Graduate Affairs
BRC, Suite 719
(713) 348-3494
Membrane and Auditory Bioengineering Group
rraphael@rice.edu  

Richards-Kortum_ThumbnailRebecca Richards-Kortum, Ph.D.
Stanley C. Moore Professor of Bioengineering and Chair, Department of Bioengineering
Director, Rice 360°: Institute for Global Health Technologies
Founder, Beyond Traditional Borders
BRC, Suite 519
(713) 348-3823
Optical Spectroscopy and Imaging Laboratory
rkortum@rice.edu  

Eric_Richardson_web_smallEric Richardson, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 525
(713) 348-8634
richardson@rice.edu

Ka-Yiu SanKa-Yiu San, Ph.D.
E. D. Butcher Professor of Bioengineering
Professor of Chemical Engineering
BRC, Suite 815
(713) 348-5361
Metabolic Engineering and Systems
Biotechnology Laboratory

ksan@rice.edu

Ann Saterbak_ThumbnailAnn Saterbak, Ph.D.
Professor in the Practice
of Bioengineering Education
Associate Chair, Undergraduate Affairs
109 Keck Hall
(713) 348-6243
saterbak@rice.edu  

Junghae SuhJunghae Suh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 819
(713) 348-2853
Laboratory for Nanotherapeutics Research
jsuh@rice.edu  

Jeff TaborJeffrey J. Tabor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry and Cell Biology
BRC, Suite 821
(713) 348-8316
Tabor Laboratory
jeff.tabor@rice.edu

Tomasz Tkaczyk_ThumbnailTomasz Tkaczyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bioengineering
Assistant Professor, Electrical &
Computer Engineering
BRC, Suite 513
(713) 348-4362
Modern Optical Instrumentation
and Bio-imaging Laboratory

ttkaczyk@rice.edu

David_Zhang_thumbnailDavid Yu Zhang, Ph.D.
Ted Law Jr. Assistant Professor of Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 425
(713) 348-2832
Nucleic Acid Bioengineering Laboratory (NABLab)
david.y.zhang@rice.edu  

Emeritus Faculty

 

William W. Akers, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Bioengineering
Founding Chair, Department of Bioengineering

 

J. David Hellums, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor Emeritus,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Bioengineering

Joint Appointments 

 

John W. Clark, Jr, Ph.D.
Professor,
Electrical & Computer Engineering and Bioengineering
A224 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-3597
jwc@rice.edu  

Cindy Farach-Carson, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Translational Bioscience
Professor, Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Professor, Bioengineering
W105 GRB Hall
BRC, Suite 611
(713) 348-5052
farachca@rice.edu

Fathi Ghorbel, Ph.D.
Professor,
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science
and Bioengineering
205 Mechanical Engr. Bldg.
(713) 348-3738
Robotics and Intelligent Systems (RiSYS) Laboratory
ghorbel@rice.edu  

Ramon Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering,
Bioengineering
B232 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-4893
Gonzalez Research Group
ramon.gonzalez@rice.edu  

Naomi J. Halas, Ph.D.
Stanley C. Moore Professor, Electrical &
Computer Engineering, Professor of Chemistry,
Physics, and Bioengineering
Director of the Laboratory for Nanophotonics;
(713) 348-5611
Halas Nanophotonics Group
halas@rice.edu   

Jeffrey D. Hartgerink, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry and Bioengineering
BRC, Suite 319
(713) 348-4142
Hartgerink Research Group
jdh@rice.edu  

Lydia E. Kavraki, Ph.D.
Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science
and Bioengineering
3106 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5737
Physical & Biological Computing Group
kavraki@rice.edu  

Ching-Hwa Kiang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Physics & Astronomy and Bioengineering
107 Herzstein Hall
(713) 348-4130
Kiang Group Page
chkiang@rice.edu  

Marek Kimmel, Ph.D.
Professor, Statistics
2097 Duncan Hall
(713) 348-5255
kimmel@rice.edu
Kimmel Group  

Angel A. Martí, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Bioengineering
320B Dell Butcher Hall
(713) 348-3486
amarti@rice.edu
Angel Martí Group  

Deepak Nagrath, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Abercrombie Lab, B233
(713) 348-6408
deepak.nagrath@rice.edu
Nagrath Lab  

Jacob T. Robinson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer
Engineering, and Bioengineering
Duncan Hall, 2046
(713) 348-2933
jacob.t.robinson@rice.edu
Robinson Research Group  

Laura Segatori, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular
Engineering and Bioengineering
Abercrombie Laboratories B-238
(713) 348-3536
Segatori Research Group
segatori@rice.edu  

Jonathan (Joff) Silberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Biochemistry & Cell Biology, Bioengineering
209 Keck Hall
(713) 348-3849
Jonathan (Joff) Silberg Research Group
joff@rice.edu  

Frank K. Tittel, Ph.D., D.Sc.
J.S. Abercrombie Professor,
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor of Bioengineering
B208 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5955
Laser Science Group
fkt@rice.edu  

Kyriacos Zygourakis, Ph.D.
A.J. Hartsook Professor of Chemical Engineering,
Professor of Bioengineering
B217 Abercrombie Lab
(713) 348-5208
K. Zygourakis Home Page
kyzy@rice.edu   

Adjunct Faculty

 

Catherine G. Ambrose, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
UT Health Science Center at Houston
Catherine.G.Ambrose@uth.tmc.edu  

Sharmila Anandasabapathy, M.D.
Associate Professor
Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition
Mount Sinai
sharmila.anandasabapathy@mountsinai.org  

Gábor Balázsi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Systems Biology
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
gbalazsi@mdanderson.org  

Neel Bhatavadekar, B.D.S., M.S., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor
Department of Periodontology
UT Health Science Center at Houston Dental Branch
Neel.Bhatavadekar@uth.tmc.edu

Manoop S. Bhutani, M.D., F.A.S.G.E.,
F.A.C.G., A.G.A.F., F.A.C.P.

Professor
Medicine & Experimental Diagnostic Imaging
Dept. of Gastroenterology, Hepatology
and Nutrition
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Manoop.Bhutani@mdanderson.org   

William Brownell, Ph.D.
Jake and Nina Kamin Chair
Professor Bobby R. Alford, Otolaryngology
Baylor College of Medicine
brownnell@bcm.tmc.edu  

Ill-Min Chung, Ph.D.
The Korean Academy of Science and Technology
Department of Applied Bio Science
College of Life & Environmental Science
Seoul, Korea
imcim@konkuk.ac.kr  

Miguel A. Cruz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Thrombosis Research
Department of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
miguelc@bcm.tmc.edu  

Mary Dickinson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Developmental Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
mdickins@bcm.tmc.edu

 

Jing-Fei Dong, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Director, Thrombosis Core Laboratory
Department of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
jfdong@bcm.tmc.edu  

Rena D'Souza, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Professor and Dean
University of Utah School of Dentistry
Health Sciences Education Building
School of Dentistry
26 South 2000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
(801) 587-1199

 

Mauro Ferrari, Ph.D.
President and CEO
Ernest Cockrell Jr. Distinguished Endowed Chair,
Methodist Hospital Research Institute;
President, Alliance for NanoHealth (ANH);
Professor, Experimental Therapeutics,
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center;
Professor, Bioengineering, Rice University
mferrari@tmhs.org

Charles Fraser, Jr. M.D.
Professor
Surgery and Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine;
Chief and Donovan Chair
Congenital Heart Surgery
Texas Children’s Hospital
congheartcenter@texaschildrenshospital.org

Ann M. Gillenwater, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Professor and Surgeon
Department of Head and Neck Surgery
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center;
Clinical Professor, Otolaryngology,
Baylor College of Medicine
agillenwater@mdanderson.org  

Ido Golding, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
golding@bcm.edu  

King C. Li, M.D., F.R.C.P.(C), M.B.A.
Chair, Department of Radiology
Methodist Hospital;
Professor
Weill Cornel Medical College
kli@tmhs.org

Stephen H. Little, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Medicine
Weill Cornel Medical College
Physician, Methodist DeBakey Heart and Vascular Center
Methodist Hospital
shlittle@tmhs.org

Joseph A. Ludwig, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Sarcoma Medical Oncology
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
jaludwig@mdanderson.org

 

Anshu B. Mathur, Ph.D.
Director of Research,
Tissue Regeneration and Molecular Cell Engineering
Associate Professor, Dept. of Plastic Surgery
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
amathur@mdanderson.org

John S. Oghalai, M.D.
Associate Professor, Otolaryngology-Head and
Neck Surgery, Stanford University;
Director, Children’s Hearing Center,
Lucille Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanfordjoghalai@ohns.stanford.edu  

Kathryn E. Peek, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice President, University Health Initiatives
University of Houston
kpeek@uh.edu

Rodrigo Ruano, M.D., Ph.D
Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Baylor College of Medicine
Co-director, Fetal Center at Pavilion for Women
Texas Children’s Hospital

Peter Saggau, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Neuroscience
Baylor College of Medicine
psaggau@bcm.tmc.edu  

Jacqueline V. Shanks, Ph.D.
Professor
Chemical Engineering and Biological
Iowa State University
jshanks@iastate.edu

Karen A. Storthz, Ph.D.
Professor, Diagnostic Sciences
Associate Dean, Research
UT Houston Dental School
Karen.A.Storthz@uth.tmc.edu  

Mark E. Wong, D.D.S.
Professor, Chair and Program Director
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
UT Health Science Center at Houston
mark.e.wong@uth.tmc.edu  

Stephen T.C. Wong, Ph.D.
Chief, Medical Physics and Vice Chair of Research,
Department of Radiology;
Director, Bioinformatics Programs;
Senior Member, Methodist Hospital Research Institute
Methodist Hospital
stwong@tmh.tmc.edu  

Samuel Miao-Sin Wu, Ph.D.
Camille and Raymond Hankamer Chair in Ophthalmology
Professor
Baylor College of Medicine
swu@bcm.tmc.edu